Praying the Psalms

A Spiritual Journey

Once I began blogging, I found that I rather enjoyed it!  Up until now, however, my blogs have been more reflective on personal experiences and memories of my past adventures and growing up.  My original site, http://ceceliafutch.wordpress.com has been written with my children in mind; a memoir of sorts for them.  The stories that have passed down to me from my grandparents have been awe inspiring, and given me a sense of my own history and worth.  I intend to write much more along that line…but on my original blog.

In my former life, before becoming  Jewish, I was a minister by profession.  But then I converted to Judaism, and my life has been very different since then.  This was a very good thing for me, the right thing to do.   My spiritual journey has humbled and amazed me, yet I never lost the desire to share spiritual nuggets (learned from experience and from wonderful teachers along the way) and offer encouragement to those I come in contact with.  This page is intended for that purpose.  Chana is my Hebrew name.  Chana, the mother of Shmuel (Samuel) HaMelech (the king), taught us how to pray.  Today, our jewish prayers are still modeled after the prayer she prayed when in the temple praying for a child.  After the birth of Shmuel, she sang for joy for prayer answered, thus the name of this blog.  I am learning to pray and sing the Psalms/Tehillim.  Our journey here is a song, oftentimes joyful, but also mournful in seasons of sorrow or distress.  Always, though, our prayers and songs are the ways in which we communicate with HaShem thus strengthening that spiritual bond.  I plan to reflect on those songs: Tehillim/Psalms, Emunah/Faith, Weekly Parsha/weekly Torah reading.  I may add more categories as I go along, but this is a start.  Without promise, I plan to write once a week on this site.  I hope that you feel free to add your insights and reflections in your comments. 

May we all merit continued growth in our spiritual journeys.

Leave a Reply

